Colour Blocking Nail Art :: Femme Fatale Cosmetics :: Mr Pinchy, Gossamer Dust and Gentlemen’s Scuffle

A lot of our Aussie Indie brands have their own fan groups on Facebook, and regularly run challenges.  I am unable to join in on a lot of them due to lack of time, however I had just enough time to sneak a mani in before last night’s cut-off on Femme Fatale Fiends‘ Colour Blocking theme.
I did a haphazard random design with striping tape over base coat as time was a factor, and lack of time doesn’t blend with precision very well 😉  I told myself I wanted to try out the “negative space” effect to see whether I liked it or not.  It was more the fact that I was quite tired from a busy day and didn’t want to wait for a coat of colour to dry properly…. [lazy]

 

Due to the use of striping tape, I wanted to use my more ‘solid’ type FFC colours as opposed to the glitters.  I went with Gossamer Dust (yellow/orange thermal with a blue/green shimmer), Gentlemen’s Scuffle (shimmery teal holo) and one of my favourite polishes from Femme Fatale Cosmetics, Mr Pinchy.  That delightful apricot/pink holo shifter.
I forgot how absolutely gorgeous Mr Pinchy is, and the name makes me smile every time.  If you don’t have this polish, and have the opportunity to pick it up pre-loved, do so, as unfortunately Mr Pinchy has been discontinued and is no longer available from FFC.

 

My ugly stepsister hand has a random skittle of these colours, but is not pictured because she’s shy (and I forgot to take a photo).  I think I like the look of the negative space, and it was nice not to have to worry about ruining my mani if the striping tape pulled up my base colour.  I wasn’t too keen on the visible nail line at first, but it is very hard to notice during normal use of your hands.  Sometimes we forget that people don’t see our hands in extreme closeup, and those little errors and problems we thing are glaringly obvious won’t be noticed by a majority of the population.

 

So, do you have a favourite Femme Fatale polish?  Is it as awesome as Mr Pinchy is?
Happy Polishing!!

 

xo Relle

Leave a comment