Shades of Phoenix Mystery Mani-Fest :: Rockabilly Pin Up Nail Art

Press Sample

What’s buzzin, cuzzin? I’ve got a groovy new mystery box from Shades of Phoenix to share with you today.

The Mystery Mani-Fest pack is a themed “manicure in a box”, available monthly from Shades of Phoenix.  The box contains two midi sized bottles of never before seen polish, together with plenty of nail art goodies to match the theme; more than enough to create a nail art loaded mani with something different on each nail.

Rockabilly nail art using Shades of Phoenix Classy Chassis and Back Seat Bingo

May’s Mystery Mani-Fest pack was themed Rockabilly Pin-up, and came with a gorgeous glittery holo blue, Back Seat Bingo and a shimmery glittered red jelly, Classy Chassis.  There was also a half size orange cuticle stick (which can also double as a dotting tool!), striping tape, and two ziplock baggies filled with a variety of acrylic bows (with bling and no bling), silver and gold studs in a variety of shapes, fimo slices of roses and winged hearts, and a generous amount of heart, bow/butterfly and skull and crossbones glitters.

Polishes and nail art decorations from the Rockabilly Pin-up Mystery Mani-Fest
The Rockabilly Mystery Mani-Fest Pack

Time for a closer look at the polishes, Back Seat Bingo and Classy Chassis.

Classy Chassis & Back Seat Bingo from the Rockabilly Pin-up Mystery Mani-Fest
Rockabilly themed polishes, Classy Chassis and Back Seat Bingo

In the bottle, I thought that Classy Chassis was going to be my favourite from this pack as what was not to love?  It’s a shimmery glittery red jelly and with a little bit of spice with a peppering of black glitters.  I was done for however, when I put on Back Seat Bingo.  It’s a gorgeous bright blue full of holo, plus some sneaky micro glitter additions which give this polish a gorgeous sparkle indoors as well as in the sun.  You could get away with using two coats of both of these polishes, which is what I did on my right hand (see full sun plain swatches below).  For my swatch hand that received nail art however, I did three coats.  Below are swatches of three coats of the two shades, without topcoat.

Swatch of Back Seat Bingo and Classy Chassis

Swatch of Back Seat Bingo and Classy Chassis

Swatch of Back Seat Bingo and Classy Chassis

Swatch of Back Seat Bingo and Classy Chassis

On to the Nail Art!

I pulled out a trusty white polish from my collection, but everything else came from the pack.  On my index finger I used the striping tape to create crisp lines, and popped some heart glitters on the blue lines.  My middle finger I painted an anchor, and my ring finger was sporting a diamonte bow and studs.  My little pinky received a couple of skull and crossbone glitters, and a pink fimo rose slice.  I think it’s a fun and quirky rockabilly style mani and the difficulty level isn’t too high.  I have done some quickie tutorials which I will share at a later date.

Rockabilly Pin-up Nail Art using the Shades of Phoenix Mystery Mani-Fest pack

Rockabilly Pin-up Nail Art using the Shades of Phoenix Mystery Mani-Fest pack

Rockabilly Pin-up Nail Art using the Shades of Phoenix Mystery Mani-Fest pack

And last but not least, we have a couple of photos in full sun!

Full sun swatch of Back Seat Bingo and Classy Chassis

Full sun Rockabilly Pin-up Nail Art using the Shades of Phoenix Mystery Mani-Fest pack

The theme for June’s Mystery Mani-Fest is Things of Who, and is available now for pre-order until 13 June.  I’m looking forward to getting my hands on the next box.

Happy polishing!!

xo Relle

Press Sample

Leave a comment